MBTI Types and Our Relationships

Our interpersonal relationships are built to satisfy all of our needs, emotional and physical. The strength of our relationships is dependant on our satisfaction of these needs. This means if we understand our needs and how they can best be met, our interactions and relationships will be affected directly. By appreciating and understanding our MBTI types, communication can easily be improved.

Take, for example, an INTP type personality. These critical thinkers are often physicists, scientists and the like. The most detached and formal personalities would not have the easiest time communicating with an ESFP, who is named the party animal and the most empathetic, warm personality type. These two are at opposite sides of the personality spectrum, and are bound to conflict because of their communications styles. If the two were able to see eye to eye in understanding why they were different (by using the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator), they may be more open to improving such a relationship.

Personally, I am a ENFP type and the basis of my relationships are formed from my feelings and compatibility of imagination. I am passionate and driven, but can also flip to a free-spirit and enthusiastic leader. Although, I can quickly lose my patience and temper if things are not going my way. Those that are close to me get along with me very well, or are my best friends. They understand my patterns and routines, and how I am bound to react to negative situations. My predictability helps others understand what is going on in my head and react appropriately. For those who do not know me or my habits, I can seem random and unmanageable, or not someone you’d want to spend time with. Once getting to know me, it’s easy to understanding that I am an ENFP type and have an obsessive need of creativity and freedom of expression.

Knowing another’s MBTI type would be useful in predicting their approach to communication and relevant future actions. Knowing someone’s type would open the awareness to how we are all different, but can all find a way to cooperate and improve current interpersonal relationships.

Leave a comment