Why I Chose Public Relations

Entering high school, I was always quite anxious about my future plans. I had a feeling that my schoolmates had their plans set in stone and careers laid out. I knew I wanted to enter post secondary, though that was the end of things I was sure of. There’s plenty of things that I am good at and have achieved, but the summer before my grad year, I was entirely confused by where I would fit in after my short high school career.

After contemplating taking a business or arts degree over the course of two years, I was stressed to the point my mother packed me up and made the drive to the other side of the province. We had stopped at a total of four universities, where I had only been overwhelmed by three. I was intrigued by the Mount because of it’s geographical location- Just outside of the city, where I knew I wanted to live, but small enough that I wouldn’t lose a sense of community. Going on a tour of the Mount felt comfortable, and gave me a sure sense of home. Although my tour was tailored to fit a biology and science program, I was greeted by smiles and answers to every question that came to mind. My main interests are fitness, volunteering, extracurricular activities and of course, my studies, and everything I was shown at the university was highly appealing to me. I was given information of the Public Relations program, which I began to start research on the degree and classes the Mount offers. I’m interested in assisting people and organizations in a leadership position as a career, and making other’s days easier to get through. Any degree that can guide me to that goal is definitely worth my time, and I kept this in mind as I filled out my application.

In October of my grad year, still anxious of where my plans were leading, I had applied to 3 schools. Upon receiving my acceptance, I really decided to take a chance. Moving away from home was an easy decision for me, and the year passed by me so quickly that before I knew it, I was saying goodbye to my cat and leaving my small island. Now is time to start a new adventure, and I’m as excited as ever to see where the Mount will take me.

Leave a comment